The Nutella Cake

So the other day I did the ‘4 cakes in 6 hours’. And the nutella cake was oh delicious. No joke. My little brother, Arji is still yumming it up, i lie, its all gone now, well most of it and WARNING: the cake Lasts 2-3 days tops! Feedback:  the cake wasnt as light as I had planned. I reckon that was from wacking the air out of it (hmm Jenny!) I mean we did cream the butter and sugar until it was all light and fluffy BUT I do remember adding the coffee after the flour which must’ve messed it up. Oh well, Arji’s already put in his birthday cake order and his birthdays in DECEMBER. So I’m guessing that is a thumbs up. The idea of this cake if based on my Humingbird hazelnut and chocolate cupcakes-just saying,TRY THEIR RECIPES!

Okay so let’s start with the ingredients…

  • 200g (ROOM TEMPERATURE) Butter
  • 200g Caster Sugar
  • 2 (Free Range!)Eggs
  • 2 tbsp Milk (semi-skimmed or skimmed, whichever you have)
  • 1/2 tsp instant Coffee in 6 tbsp of boiling water (chilled)
  • ½ tsp Vanilla
  • 150g Self raising Flour
  • 50g Cocoa powder

Like you always do, cream the Sugar and butter for five minutes, can be done on an electric mixer or hand mixer or if you want muscly arms then woop woop, get yo exercise on!

Once the butter mixture is proper pale and fluffy, almost like fresh made butter then I added the eggs one at a time. And beat the hell out of it until thicker, fluffier and fi-i-ine. (five minute on high beat). I would add the coffee & milk NOW! Just before the eggs.

Sift and fold the flour an cocoa powder in one spoonful at a time. REMEMBER you fold in the flour with a metal spoon or spatula NOT A WOODEN SOON. This is when I added the coffee and milk…I know, wrong time!

photo (34)

Pour into a greased and floured 2lbs loaf tin. And I shoved it in a 170ᵒc preheated oven for 40 mins or until you stick a toothpick in the centre and comes out clean.

photo (13)

The frosting

  • 250g Icing Sugar
  • 80g ROOM TEMERATURE butter
  • 1 big fat tbsp. of Nutella
  • 2 tbsp. milk

So I always mix the butter and add bit by bit of the icing sugar so it doesn’t make a mess and add the Nutella in and whisk! Whisk it real GOOD!

Wait for the cake to cool down for like 1-2 hours. Just make sure it its col and NOT warm not even slight! Trust me you don’t want to go there.  First spread a thinish layer of Nutella over the bare cake. Trust me on this!

photo (12)

BUT that butter cream on…and remember ‘the mo’ butter the mo’ better’.

photo (9)

You can it on all perty or if you best piping bag burst like mine did… just slab it on and make fork patterns .

photo (8)

so as you can see the icing isn’t to soft or to stiff (haha innuendo again, sorry)

photo (7)

The final result come to a cake looking like a BEAST yeah!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Tips

So I was told by the  lovely Ina Garten through a TV screen to add coffee to chocolate when cooking and it brings out the chocolate flavour. And d’you know what? IT WORKS. I have always done it since, and I’ll tell you what, you will lick that bowl EVERY TIME, guaranteed! BUT I guess I HAVE to add it in before the flour.

I have to admit, the cake was a little not as light and spongy and more crumblier. Which I know isn’t that nice BUT the frosting helped.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “The Nutella Cake

  1. my arm is feeling the wrath of these cakes, so people buy an electric mixer, like this hipster!

Leave a Reply

