When Life gives you Lemons, You Make Lemon Meringue Pie.

Day 4

Don’t this look a beaut? I have never made lemon meringue pie before.

beast

But having set this challenge I needed to experiment. All I’m saying is, kids don’t try this at home. This may look good on the outside but on the inside it was yuck. I felt so proud at first, my first pie, looking lush. It tasted anything but! First of all the Pastry was super soggy, Mary B would have been ashamed.

Secondly the lemon filling…thinking about it is making me barf.  I thought, oh, this pie looks pretty cool, let’s get some nice pictures out of them. So I have all these perty pictures with a disastrous tasting pie. i have reasons as to why this turned out.
1. Don’t ever try to ‘blind bake’ the pastry with rice. Don’t ask, I couldn’t find any bean and I’m too tight to buy ceramic ones, times are hard at the moment.
2. DON’T THINK THAT BY USING LEMON JUICE CONCERNTRATE IS THE SAME! It didn’t taste anything like it. The recipe asked for 8 lemon and I estimated it to be 160ml. so me being me, used the concentrated stuff which tasted rank. Also as I cut into the pie, water was coming out of it as it was resting.

It wont be too quick before I make another Lemon Meringue Pie. This will haunt me for life!

meringue whole

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes Gone Wrong, The Unknown Mystery

One response to “When Life gives you Lemons, You Make Lemon Meringue Pie.

Leave a Reply

