Cheddar and Dill Scones

I know I’ve already posted a recipe of scones but these I feel are so much better! I was inspired by the local farmers market near my work place where they sell baked goods for £1! Yes this is where my Indian side screams out “ by the whole stall!” but I have tamed myself to buying 2 items a week. So one week I brought cheesy scones where I was recommended to heath them up in the oven for 15 minutes and they’ll be all gooey inside. Well I forgot to take them home and had one whilst I working hard in the office. So I never did get to eat them warm which then made me think a lot about what they would have tasted like.

DSCF5102

  • 300g of plain flour
  • 150g room temperature butter
  • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp of natural yoghurt
  • Dash of milk
  • ½ tsp black pepper
  • 200g cheddar cheese grated
  • A handful of chopped dill
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180c and c rumble the butter and flour between fingertips and baking powder, salt, pepper
  2. Add yoghurt and mix with spoon
  3. Add herbs and 3/4 of the cheese and if a little dry add the milk
  4. Pour mixture onto floured surface and flatten slightly (2 inches thick) cutting out 7-8 pieces
  5. Brush the scones with milk and top each scone with finely grated cheddar and dill and bake in the oven for 45-50 minutes.
  6. These I would say are best served on the side of a hearty stew or as a bagel with salmon and cream cheese.

DSCF5094

Notice the specs of green from dill and the mountain of cheese, you just know its going to be delish out of the oven. Remember to keep the scone thick, so they don’t turn hard out of the oven.

DSCF5107

I can’t cope with how dark the cheese got whilst in the oven. my mouth is still drooling just looking at it.

DSCF5106

And another one.

DSCF5105

Ta-Dah!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Cheddar and Dill Scones

  1. These look awesome! I love the cheddar and dill flavors together. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

